Patanjali Yoga Sutra

Patanjali Yoga Sutra-

Patanjali is the father of Indian yoga. He lived in the second century BC. In the Yoga Sutra, he grasped the essence of all yoga knowledge together in a few words. The two main sets of Patanjali are, “Yoga is the calming of the. Then the yogi lives in the light.” The way of peace by Patanjali is to calm the mind over the years on the spiritual path more and more, and finally to be able to live in peace of thought. You think only when you need to think. The more one lives in peace, the greater is the inner happiness and the more comprehensive is the light. Patanjali points out that to develop the inner happiness is long term and can in principle be achieved only through persistent exercise. To soothe the thoughts Patanjali recommends a two-step way. The first stage is the development of positive ethic qualities (the ten yoga principles).

Negative qualities lead to entanglement in the outer world and to inner restlessness. Positive qualities effect inner peace and happiness. The development of positive qualities is the prerequisite for a successful long-term meditation. Without positive qualities in meditation inner peace will break through the chaos of the outside world again and again. Without positive qualities, the inner peace will not permanent to be preserved.

The second stage of the yogic path is to practice meditation. In meditation we quiet our thoughts completely. We stay in inner peace. At some point we develop the ability to combine meditation and outer action. Then we can always stay in peace and happiness, and at the same time we can fulfill our external obligations.

  1. Non-violence (ahimsa) = No killing other beings. Be meek. Be peaceful.
  2. Truthfulness (Satya) = Live in the truth. Basically, be honest with yourself and others. Also no little lies of convenience. A lie is permissible only in well justified situations, for example, if you save with a lie the life of another
  3. human being. A Yogi is silent in doubt . Those who consistently lives in the truth radiate truth. Their fellow men trust them.
  4. Righteousness (Asteya) = Not stealing, not cheating. A Yogi is in professional life generally honest. He does not seek unwarranted advantage, but he is looking for fair trade.
  5. Wisdom (Brahmacharia) = Live in the spiritual focus (in the light/in God = Brahman). Do not serve the money (outer luck) but the inner happiness (God, Brahman, enlightenment). Be centered in your inner happiness and peace.
  6.  Simplicity (Aparigraha) = Be moderate in external enjoyment and consumption. A spiritual person lives modestly outwardly and inwardly rich. A Yogi uses his energy not in outer actions, but lives so peaceful that it turns inward and cleanse his body from the inside. One day, he lives permanently in the light (the cosmos energy).
  7. Worship of the spiritual goal (Ishvara-Pranidhana) = Thus we do not lose our spiritual path, it is necessary that we remind ourselves again and again to our spiritual goal. We can worship an image (Goddess, Shiva, Patanjali), we can bow before a statue (Buddha, Jesus, Shiva) or speak a mantra (prayer). What is your spiritual goal? Send light to all beings, and wish a happy world.
  8. Sacrifice the ego (Shaucha) = Purification / cleaning. The way into the light passes through the crucifixion of the ego. Without a crucifixion there is no enlightenment. True sacrifice is an art. He who sacrifices too much braced themselves internally. Who sacrifices too little, does not solves his intentions. How do you get inner peace today? “I let go of my false desires. I take things as they are. My sacrifice today is … “
  9. Self Discipline (Tapas) = A clear goal, a clear life plan and a clear way of practicing. Tapas means to lead a disciplined life. Follow your inner wisdom and you’ll win on your spiritual path.
  10.  Reading (Svadhyaya) = The daily reading (mantra, meditation) keeps us on the spiritual path, cleanses our spirit, connects us with the enlightened masters and makes us to spiritual victors.
  11. Contentment (Santosha) = Satisfied with what one has. Which idea will help you to get into the satisfaction with yourself and your life? “My thought of satisfaction is now .”
Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh India
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Patanjali Yoga Sutra
Author Rating

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *